Attention subscribers — Welcome to our new and improved website!

For the month of January, will be freely available to all readers. No login is required at this time.

Atterberry resigns as SE head coach


Southeastern football coach Bo Atterberry has resigned his position as the Savage Storm head coach to accept the same position at Arkansas Tech.

“I want to thank Bo and his family for their investment into Southeastern, Southeastern Football and most importantly into our student-athletes,” said Southeastern Director of Athletics Keith Baxter. “We wish he, April and Jax the very best as they move to the next chapter of their lives. Our football program is on solid ground and we will begin the search for our next Head Coach immediately.”

“I greatly appreciate the opportunity I’ve had to coach at Southeastern,” said Atterberry. “I played here, this program has meant a lot to me, and I’m thankful for the chance I’ve had to lead it for the past five seasons. I especially want to thank Keith for believing in my ability to run this program, and to the entire Southeastern family for its support. April, Jax and I have thoroughly enjoyed our time here in Durant, and this place will always be special to us. I would like to thank the community and our fans for supporting me and my family in our time here.”

Atterberry became SE’s 19th head coach in December of 2013 and beginning with the 2014 season posted a 33-23 record over five seasons, including a 32-22 record in Great American Conference play.

In his first season Southeastern finished with a 7-5 record and earned its first postseason berth since 2004, appearing in the Texarkana Live United Bowl in Texarkana, Ark.

Over the following four seasons, Atterberry’s teams would push the program’s streak of winning seasons to five-straight, matching his high of seven wins in two of them.

The Storm also boast 40 all-conference selections in that span and one All-American.

Southeastern football started in 1909 and has put together 105 total seasons and is nearing its 500th program victory. Over that time the Storm have had 63 All-American honorees and more than 400 all-conference award winners.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment